2018 ICDD Spring Meeting 12-16 March – ICDD[®] Headquarters

S. Jennings, International Centre for Diffraction Data, Newtown Square, PA, USA

Members of the International Centre for Diffraction Data met during the week of 12 March 2018 for the Annual Spring Meeting. Task groups got right to work during the previous weekend, finding ways to improve the Powder Diffraction File™.

The Tuesday morning Plenary Session featured four speakers. **Daniel Louër**, CNRS and University of Rennes, France, gave An Overview of Powder Diffraction Studies at Rennes: 1964 to 2004. **Reinhard Kleeberg**, Institut für Mineralogie, TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Germany, spoke about Qualitative and Quantitative Mineral Phase Analysis of Clay Bearing Rocks – a Substantial Challenge. **Artem Abakumov**, Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology, Russia, gave a talk entitled Quantitative



L to R: Reinhard Kleeberg, Charlene Greenwood, Artem M. Abakumov, Daniel Louër

Electron Diffraction and Powder X-Ray Diffraction: A Perfect Marriage. **Charlene Greenwood**, Cranfield University, CFI, United Kingdom, shared her work on *Biomineral Research: The Capabilities of X-ray Diffraction*.



L to R: Kevin Bethea, Jim Kaduk

Following a very informative Plenary Session and lunch at ICDD Headquarters, members, staff, and guests traveled to the historic Merion Tribute House in Merion Station, PA. While visiting, everyone enjoyed the entertainment of Kevin Bethea, Corporate Magician and Illusionist. Kevin provided a 45-minute show that included magic, comedy, and incredible feats of mind reading, along with lots of audience participation. Kevin had the crowd laughing while pulling coins from Jim Kaduk – if only he could have taught us how to do that!

While enjoying cocktails and hors d'oeuvres, attendees

were able to view 35 posters, presented by members, guests, and staff. Also during this time, Kevin performed strolling magic, where magic happened right in our own hands! Everyone was able to exchange knowledge with his or her peers, and enjoy old and new friendships. Members voted on their favorite poster, and the posters receiving the most votes were on display at ICDD Headquarters for the remainder of the week. The three **best posters** were - *The Incommensurate Modulated Structure of a Cd-Derivative of Valproic Acid, an API Used in the Treatment of Epilepsy and Bipolar Disorder* presented by **José Miguel Delgado**, Universidad de

Los Andes, Venezuela. *Non-Destructive Evaluation of Roman Coin Patina's from the 3rd and 4th Century* presented by **Timothy G. Fawcett,** Emeritus, International Centre for Diffraction Data, USA. *WHAT A MESS... [Maximum-Entropy Enhanced STOE Spectrometer]!* presented by **Robert**



L to R: Tom Blanton, José Miguel Delgado



L to R: Tom Blanton, Timothy G. Fawcett



L to R: Tom Blanton, Robert J. Papoular

J. Papoular, Saclay Institute for

Matter and Radiation (IRAMIS), France.

Wednesday was a busy day for all who attended. Throughout the day, sixteen committees and subcommittees met. Each group discussed their specialized activity taking place in the community and at ICDD. The committees and subcommittees shared ideas and gathered their motions to present during the Technical Committee Meeting the following day.

The week concluded with the Annual Meeting of Members, on 15 March. Tom Blanton, Executive Director / Principal Scientist at ICDD, shared the activities that have been going on at ICDD Headquarters over the past year. Jim Kaduk, ICDD's Treasurer, gave a report on the financial outlook of the organization.

During the Annual Meeting, the following awards were also presented:

Distinguished Fellow: Certain members who have given long and meritorious service to ICDD and are currently *recognized as Fellows may be granted the title of* Distinguished Fellow. Matteo Leoni presented two Distinguished Fellow Awards during the Annual Meeting: first, to **Catharine Foris** of Wilmington, Delaware, honoring her 40+ years of service; second, to **David Taylor** of Wigan, Lancs, United Kingdom, honoring his contributions since 1999.

Fellow: The ICDD Board of Directors may give the designation of Fellow to individuals who have given their time and talents



L to R: David Taylor, Matteo Leoni

beyond that normally associated with membership. Matteo Leoni announced the recipient of the Fellow Award as **Pamela Whitfield** of Excelsus Structural Solutions, Villigen, Switzerland, honoring her contributions to ICDD, in particular, her leadership as Chair of the Synchrotron & Neutron Scattering Methods Subcommittee.



L to R: Susan Quick, Matteo Leoni

McMurdie Award: Recognizing distinguished work that improves the PDF[®]'s ability to identify and characterize materials, this award



L to R: Pamela Whitfield, Matteo Leoni

is presented biennially. Matteo Leoni presented the 2018 McMurdie Award to **Susan Quick** of The Pennsylvania State University, State College, Pennsylvania. Sue was recognized for her many distinguished contributions for over 25 years to the quality, content, coverage, and usefulness of the Powder Diffraction File, in particular the Zeolite Subfile.

The International Centre for Diffraction Data was also pleased to announce, during the Annual Meeting of Members, its new Board of Directors, serving the term 2018 through 2020.



L to R: Xiaolong Chen, Scott Misture, Terry Maguire, E. Andrew Payzant, Tom Blanton, Robert Dinnebier, Matteo Leoni, Jim Kaduk, Mark Rodriguez, David Rafaja, Vanessa Peterson, Takashi Ida

Chairman – Matteo Leoni

University di Trento, Department of Civil, Environmental and Mechanical Engineering Trento, Italy

Vice Chairman – Xiaolong Chen Institute of Physics Chinese Academy of Sciences Beijing, People's Republic of China

Treasurer – James Kaduk Poly Crystallography, Inc. Naperville, IL, USA **Corporate Secretary – Theresa Maguire** International Centre for Diffraction Data Newtown Square, PA, USA

Executive Director – Tom Blanton International Centre for Diffraction Data Newtown Square, PA, USA

Chairman, Technical Committee – Mark Rodriguez Sandia National Laboratories Albuquerque, NM, USA

Directors-at-Large (2016-2020):

Robert Dinnebier Max-Planck Institute fuer Festkoerperforschung Stuttgart, Germany

Takashi Ida Nagoya Institute of Technology Ceramics Research Laboratory Tajimi, Japan

David Rafaja Freiberg University of Technology, Institute of Materials Science Structure Research Freiberg, Germany

Directors-at-Large (2018-2022):

E. Andrew Payzant Oak Ridge National Laboratory Oak Ridge, TN, USA

Vanessa Peterson The Bragg Institute, ANSTO Lucas Heights, NSW, Australia

Past Chairman – Scott Misture Alfred University NYS College of Ceramics Alfred, NY, USA

Spring Meeting week at ICDD is always enjoyed by all who attend, and this year was no exception! Mark your calendar with the 2019 Spring Meetings dates, 11-15 March 2019. We hope to see everyone again next year!