About The ICDD Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship

The science of crystallography has played a key role in the development of X-ray diffraction, electron diffraction and neutron diffraction for the elucidation of the atomic structure of matter.

Crystallography is an interdisciplinary branch of science taught in departments of physics, chemistry, geology, ceramics, molecular biology, metallurgy, and material science. To encourage promising graduate students to pursue crystallographically oriented research, the International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD) has established a Crystallography Scholarship Fund, known as the Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship Fund. While the Ewald Prize is awarded every three years to an internationally recognized crystallographer, little effort has been made by science departments to cultivate aspiring crystallographers. Convinced of the beneficial, scientific impact of the proposed scholarships for crystallographically oriented research, the ICDD has solicited funds from private and industrial sectors to support this program.

The ICDD has awarded 191 scholarships since 1991. The 2017 Scholarship Awards were in the amount of $2,500 each. Since the scholarship's inception in 1991, $454,750 has been awarded to aspiring crystallographers. Applications for the year 2018 awards must be received by ICDD no later than 18 October 2017.


A few words regarding the Ludo Frevel Crystallographic Scholarship from the chairperson of the Scholarship committee:

The Ludo Frevel Crystallographic Scholarship is:

...an award to support the education and research program of promising graduate students in crystallography-related fields.

The Ludo Frevel Crystallographic Scholarship is not:

...a payment for work or service performed for the ICDD

...a grant given in expectation of performing ICDD-reviewed research

...a grant-in-aid

PLEASE DONATE NOW to the future of crystallography