Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

ICDD Newsletter Volume 10 Issue 4

Spring Meetings: Awards

The ICDD is pleased to announce that several distinguished scientists have been selected as award recipients for 2012. Honorees were named during the Annual Meeting of Members held on Thursday, March 22 at the ICDD Spring Meetings week.

This year, the Board of Directors recognized two members of the ICDD as Distinguished FellowsJeffrey N. Dann, formerly of Global Tungsten and Powders; and Peter Wallace, Oro Valley, Arizona. This award is bestowed upon a member, currently recognized as a Fellow, who has given long and meritorious service to the ICDD.

Jeff Dann
Jeffrey N. Dann

Jeffrey N. Dann has been a member of the ICDD for 34 years, and during that time, has contributed to both the quantity and quality of the Powder Diffraction File. Since joining in 1978, Jeff has served ICDD in various capacities: Chairman of the Target Systems for Technical Activity Subcommittee; Chairman of the Metals and Alloys Subcommittee; member of the Grant-in-Aid Committee; Chairman of the Bylaws Committee, and Director-at-Large on the Board of Directors. Also, Jeff has made extensive contributions to other subcommittees, such as, Ceramics, Database, Diffraction Methods, Organics and Editorial.

Jeff is a part of the Metals and Alloys Task Group which is responsible for editing the Metals and Alloys Subfile, assigning Pearson Symbol Codes, implementing prototype structures, designating patterns as “primary” or “alternate,” and enhancing the quality of the Metal and Alloys entries in the PDF. His work has invaluably enhanced the quality of the data in the PDF so much that, in 2008, Jeff received the McMurdie Award for his contributions.

Peter Wallace
Peter Wallace

Peter Wallace was one of the original members of the Metals and Alloys Task Group, and primary author of the Metals and Alloys Indexes, published in 1992. He was instrumental in developing criteria for the designation of “primary” vs. “alternate” for Metals and Alloys phases in the calculated patterns from LPF and ICSD. Pete was involved in the implementation of Pearson Symbol Codes and prototype structures in the PDF and related software. Pete’s contributions as Consulting Editor of the PDF are thorough and meticulous, which greatly enhance the quality of the PDF.

Pete’s four decades of editorial contributions to the Metals and Alloys products were recognized in 2006 when he received the McMurdie Award.

breaking line

The ICDD also awarded two ICDD Fellows at the Annual Meetings. This award recognizes individuals who have devoted their time and talent beyond what is normally expected of a member. Recognized for their leadership and noteworthy ICDD activity, the 2012 ICDD Fellows are: Vanessa Peterson, The Bragg Institute, ANSTO, Australia and Matthew Suchomel, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL.  

Vanessa Peterson
Vanessa Peterson and ICDD Past Chairman Tom Blanton

Vanessa Peterson joined the ICDD in 2009 and has served as an active member since then. In 2010, Vanessa gave a plenary talk during the Spring Meetings, and joined the Technical Committee as Regional Co-chair for the Indian Ocean Rim. Over the past two years, Vanessa has attended the Annual Meetings, presented reports for the Indian Ocean Rim region, and has worked the ICDD booth at conferences such as ICMAT, Singapore, and AXAA, Australia. At this year’s Spring Meeting, Vanessa joined the Board of Directors as a Director-at-Large, a position she will hold until 2016.

Matthew Suchomel
Matthew Suchomel and ICDD Past Chairman Tom Blanton

Matthew Suchomel attended the Spring Meetings in March 2010 as a substitute chairperson for the Synchrotron Subcommittee. Later that year, Matthew was accepted as a member of the ICDD, and in 2011, he formally became the chair of the Synchrotron Subcommittee. Matthew and the subcommittee, now renamed Synchrotron & Neutron Scattering Methods Subcommittee, have facilitated online submissions of contributed PDF data from non grant-in-aid researchers. Also, under Matthew’s leadership, the subcommittee has promoted the access of user facility mail-in diffraction services to provide synchrotron access to Grant-in-Aid recipients.

breaking line

This year, the ICDD was happy to award a member with the McMurdie Award, which is given biennially. This year’s recipient of the McMurdie Award is Andrew Roberts, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

Andy Roberts
Andrew Roberts

Over the years, Andrew Roberts has actively participated in both the Minerals and Metals and Alloys Task Groups. For 30 years, Andy has served as a subject expert in Mineral nomenclature and location. Andy meticulously reviews each mineral name and location for all calculated patterns, specifically entries from our collaborations with ICSD and LPF. Each year, Andy also reviews newly published mineral entries. His contributions have increased both the quality and uniqueness of the Powder Diffraction File. As a member of the Metals and Alloys Task Group, Andy participates in the Pearson Structure Code review, and structure prototype assignment.

Congratulations to all the 2012 award recipients!

Learn more about the ICDD awards -

You are receiving this email because you are an ICDD Member.

12 Campus Blvd.
Newtown Square, PA
19073-3273 U.S.A.

Tel: (610) 325-9814
Toll-free Tel: (866) 378-9331 (US + Canada only)
Fax: (610) 325-9823

Copyright (C) 2012 - JCPDS - International Centre for Diffraction Data® All rights reserved.