Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

ICDD Newsletter Volume 11 Issue 2

ICDD Annual Spring Meetings

Members of the International Centre for Diffraction Data met during the week of 11 March 2013 for the Annual Spring Meetings. Members from 15 countries gathered, along with staff and guests, at ICDD Headquarters in Newtown Square, PA. Here they learned about ICDD’s educational events, database and product developments over the past year, and reconnected with one another. Throughout the week, various committees, subcommittees and task groups met for special-interest discussions.

All were in attendance for the plenary session, 12 March. This year’s plenary featured three guest speakers. Robert Hart, of Phase Analytics in Western Australia, presented a talk titled, Applications of Diffraction in the West Australian Minerals Industry. Olivier Gourdon, Senior Scientific Editor for the International Centre for Diffraction Data, USA, spoke on Structure Analysis of Modulated and Composite Structures and Implementation in the ICDD Database. And, David Bish of Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana, USA, presented a very timely discussion on The First X-ray Diffraction Results from Mars Science Laboratory.

(L to R) Tim Fawcett, Robert Hart, Olivier Gourdon, David Bish

After the plenary session, members, staff and guests were treated to a trip to Philadelphia’s Franklin Institute for the Titanic: The Artifact Exhibition, showcasing more than 300 artifacts recovered from the ship’s debris field. The exhibition takes visitors on a chronological journey through the life of the Titanic, from the building of the legend to life on board, and to its final demise.

(L to R) Staff members: Jackie Hollencamp, Bev Dickson, Linda Shertz,
and ICDD Member Clay Ruud

The day concluded with a poster session and dinner reception at the Concordville Inn. A total of 28 posters were on display for members and guests to view. A first for this year, members were asked to vote on their favorite poster. The three posters receiving the most votes were then displayed at ICDD Headquarters for the remainder of the Spring Meetings. The three posters voted best by ICDD members included: A Dynamic Metal-Organic Rotaxane Framework presented by V. Nicholas Vukotic of the University of Windsor, Ontario, Canada; X-Stripping with ME: An Improved Numerical Method to Deriving Monochromatic Datasets from Laboratory Polychromatic Diffractograms Based on Maximum Entropy, presented by Robert Papoular of Leon Brillouin Laboratory, France; and, Overview of NIST Thermoelectric Research, presented by W. Wong-Ng of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD.

Emily Foster, ICDD Intern

poster 2
(L to R) Staff member Helen McDonnell; Members Graciela Delgado,
Larry Bernstein, Miguel Delgado

poster 3
Staff member, Justin Blanton

The week’s events concluded with the Annual Meeting of Members, 14 March. The following awards were presented:

ICDD’s Board of Directors awarded Thomas Blanton the Distinguished Fellow Award. This award is given to a member who has given dedicated and meritorious service to the ICDD. Tom’s involvement with ICDD goes back to the 1990’s. He has served and continues to serve in our most important leadership positions. Besides chairing a number of committees and subcommittees, he has held the following positions:  Member-at-Large of the Board of Directors, 1992-1998 and 2004-2008, and Chairman of the Board of Directors 2008-2012. During his time as Chairman, ICDD has seen significant growth in the Powder Diffraction File. He is a member of the Denver X-ray Conference Organizing Committee and co-editor of Advances in X-ray Analysis. Tom has freely shared his knowledge and expertise over the last two decades, through his volunteer efforts within the ICDD, including an instructor at the ICDD X-ray powder diffraction clinics and workshops. Tom is an internationally-recognized scientist, an author of over 100 publications, and he has given of his time for further developments at the ICDD.

(L to R) Tom Blanton and Scott Misture

The ICDD Board of Directors also chose to award two ICDD Fellows: Detlef Beckers and Shawn Yin. Dr. Beckers has been a major contributor to the development of the PPXRD symposia series as a member of the organizing committee, and has participated in 10 / 11 PPXRD symposia, given 18 presentations and conducted several workshops. He is currently with PaNanalytical in the position of Market Segment Manager Pharmaceuticals: Food and Life Science. Dr. Yin has also been intensely involved with PPXRD as an educator and instructor on materials analysis of pharmaceuticals and the use of diffraction techniques as a primary research tool. He is currently with Bristol-Myers Squibb as Principal Scientist and group leader of the Crystal Chemistry and Characterization group.

(L to R) Shawn Yin and Scott Misture

The award of Distinguished Grantee was awarded to Professor Xinkan Yao. This award recognizes exceptional contributions to the ICDD Grant-in-Aid Program.  Since 2002 he has contributed over 557 patterns, primarily of “*” and “R” quality. A member since 1998, he is currently a Professor at Tianjin Institute of X-ray Analysis.

Sergei Kirik, of the Institute of Chemistry and Chemical Technology, Russian Academy of Sciences, was honored for his contributions to the Powder Diffraction File, contributing over 1000 patterns. Three other individuals have met this milestone, Don Hanawalt, Larry Calvert and Shao-Fao Lin. Currently Dr. Kirik has published 1,185 references.

(L to R) Sergei Kirik and Scott Misture

Full details of the ICDD meetings can be found at

You are receiving this email because you are an ICDD Member.

12 Campus Blvd.
Newtown Square, PA
19073-3273 U.S.A.

Tel: (610) 325-9814
Toll-free Tel: (866) 378-9331 (US + Canada only)
Fax: (610) 325-9823

Copyright (C) 2013 - JCPDS - International Centre for Diffraction Data® All rights reserved.