The International Centre for Diffraction Data

Volume 3 Issue 3

Announcements & Awards | Upcoming Awards - Nominees Solicited | New Treasurer Announced

From the ICDD - You are receiving this newsletter because you are an ICDD Member, have attended an ICDD-sponsored program, or are affiliated with the ICDD.

See this newsletter on the ICDD website.


J. Messick, J. Kaduk

J. Kaduk, G. McCarthy

The Annual Meeting of Members presented a venue for recognizing several members’ service and contributions to the Powder Diffraction File (PDF), the ICDD, and the scientific community as a whole.

  • Julian Messick was honored for his leadership in guiding and mentoring the ICDD as Treasurer from 1996 to 2005. His resignation was reluctantly accepted as the directors and members offered well wishes in his future, more leisurely, endeavors. During the presentation by Chairman of the Board, Jim Kaduk, Julian was also acknowledged for his nearly 30 years of service as an ICDD employee. Hired in 1966, Julian was employed as the PDF Production Manager, served as Deputy General Manager & Secretary of the Corporation from 1980 to 1983; Secretary/General Manager from 1983 to 1994; and Interim Executive Director in 2001. We thank Julian for generously sharing his time and talents with the organization during his tenure.


  • Dr. Gregory McCarthy, North Dakota University, Fargo, ND, was awarded the 2005 Distinguished Fellow Award. The leadership and vision displayed in Greg’s historical efforts were instrumental in structuring the foundation of the modern ICDD organization, and contributed to the success that ICDD experiences today in serving as the world’s center for diffraction data. Congratulations to Greg! Through this award, the ICDD recognizes Greg’s volunteer efforts and extends its deep appreciation.





2006 Distinguished Fellow Award
Nominees are solicited for the 2006 Distinguished Fellow Award. Presented annually, the award is open to ICDD Fellows who have given long and meritorious service to the ICDD. The next award will be presented at the Annual Meeting of Members in March 2006. If you are an ICDD Fellow and would like to nominate a candidate for this prestigious honor, complete a Nomination Form by 15 September 2005.

2006 McMurdie Award
Do you know someone whose distinguished work has improved the Inorganic Powder Diffraction File? Submit his or her name for consideration of the 2006 McMurdie Award! This award, given in honor of long-time PDF Editor, Howard McMurdie, is presented biennially at a suitable international conference. The nomination deadline is 15 September 2005.
Tell me about the submission process.


Congratulations to Dave Taylor of the United Kingdom who was recently named as the new ICDD Treasurer by the Board of Directors. Dave has been actively involved with the ICDD since 1999, and has served the organization in many capacities: Regional Co-chair for the United Kingdom, Director-at-Large, Member of the Finance and Bylaws Committees, and Board liaison to the Education Subcommittee. Dave, along with his wife Ann, often represents ICDD at international meetings by attending the ICDD exhibit booth. As an active member, former Industrial Group Chairman, and Council member of the British Crystallographic Association (BCA), Dave also brings to the ICDD his five years of experience as the BCA treasurer.


Learn more about the ICDD Awards and Scholarships
Awards Main Page
Distinguished Fellow
DXC Awards
Ludo Frevel Scholarship
Distinguished Grantee

© 2005 The International Centre for Diffraction Data

General Questions -
Sales Questions -
Questions about the ICDD newsletter or website -