The International Centre for Diffraction Data

Volume 4 Issue 2


From the ICDD - You are receiving this newsletter because you are an ICDD Member, have attended an ICDD-sponsored program, or are affiliated with the ICDD. If you would not like to receive this e-newsletter, unsubscribe here

See this newsletter on the ICDD website.


Spring Meetings..Highlights!
The ICDD Headquarters was bustling with activity as its members gathered for their annual Spring Meetings, 20 - 24 March. Here are some of the week's highlights:

Plenary Talks & Tour
The Plenary Session featured four internationally recognized speakers:

  • Scott Sitzman, HKL Technology, Inc., discussed phase identification, strain analysis and data subset analysis using electron backscatter diffraction (EBSD);
  • John Faber, International Centre for Diffraction Data presented information on the new developments and capabilities in PDF-4+;
  • José Miguel Delgado, University de Andes, Merida, Venezuela, spoke about structural characterization of the Cu 2 (Se,Te) 3 -(Ga,In) 2 (Se,Te) 3 semiconducting systems;
  • Nobuo Ishizawa, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Tajimi, Japan, talked about the diffusion of lithium atoms in the lithium manganese spinel with a disordered structure .

Members, staff, and guests traveled across continents and through time as they toured the Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology at the University of Pennsylvania, in Philadelphia. From the galleries of Ancient China, Greece, Rome, and Mesoamerica, impressive collections of artifacts were enjoyed by all.

Poster Session & Reception
Networking opportunities flourished during the poster session and reception. Nearly 20 posters were presented. Watch for details in the June issue of Powder Diffraction .

Several awards were presented during the Annual Meeting of Members congratulations to the following award recipients:

  • Camden R. Hubbard, 2006 Distinguished Fellow
  • Peter L. Wallace, 2006 McMurdie Award
  • 2006 Fellows:
    Davor Balzar
    John Faber
    Peter Lee
    Bill Mayo
    Andrew Payzant
    Earle Ryba
    Paolo Scardi
    Carlo Segre
    Fred Wireko
    Peter Zavalij

New Members
We wish to congratulate and welcome our newest ICDD members:

Nicholas Armstrong
University of Technology, Sydney, Australia

Bartlomiej Benedikt
Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, NM

Elena Boldyreva
Novosibirsk State University, Novosibirsk, Russia

Ming Li
Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China

Liao Libing
China University of Geosciences, Beijing, China

Peter Moeck
University Portland State, Portland, OR

Howard David Smith
APChem Scientific Consultant

Scott Speakman
MIT, Cambridge, MA

Maryjane Tremayne
University of Birmingham, Birmingham, UK

Leonid Vasylechko
L'viv Polytechnic National University, L'viv, Ukraine

Jimin Zheng
Nankai University, Tianjin, Peoples Republic of China

International Centre for Diffraction Data
12 Campus Boulevard
Newtown Square, PA 19073-3273 U.S.A.
Phone: +610-325-9814
Fax: +610-325-9823

You are receiving this email because you are an ICDD Member. If you wish to change or remove your email address, please email:


Learn more about the ICDD Education and Products
ICDD E-Store
Ordering and Shipping
Customer Service

© 2006 The International Centre for Diffraction Data

General Questions -
Sales Questions -
Questions about the ICDD newsletter or website -