Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

ICDD Newsletter Volume 9 Issue 3
2011 Spring Meetings: Awards

The ICDD is pleased to announce that several distinguished scientists have been selected as award recipients for 2011. Honorees were recently named during the Annual Meeting of Members held on Thursday, March 17 during the ICDD Spring Meetings week.

This year, the Board of Directors recognized Brian O’Connor, Emeritus Professor of Applied Physics, Curtin University, Australia, as the 2011 Distinguished Fellow. This award is given to a member who has given long and meritorious service to the ICDD.


Brian O'Connor

Over the years, Brian has contributed his expertise to the ICDD, while building a distinguished career within the powder diffraction and crystallographic communities. He has been a member of ICDD since 1983, and has held several positions on the BOard of Directors, including: consultant to the Board, Member-at-Large, and Vice-Chairman. He also served as Regional Co-chair for the Indian Ocian Rim. As Co-chair, Brian actively worked with affiliated groups and associations in Australia, Malaysia and India.  He established cooperative relationships between the ICDD and groups such as the AXAA – Australian X-ray Analysis Association, IUCr – International Union of Crystallography, and the Australian Academy of Science. Additionally, he participated in various ICDD workshops and exhibitions held at these venues as well as others in his region.

With over forty years of experience in both single crystal and powder diffraction studies, Brian has made significant research and development contributions to the scientific community. He is known for his advancements in the expansion of modern X-ray and neutron diffraction analysis, including applications of Rietveld crystallographic metrology for material characterization and development of advanced ceramic materials from Western Australian minerals. Brian has authored more than 200 publications, some of which can be found in the ICDD publications, Advances in X-ray Analysis and the Powder Diffraction journal.

The award presentation is scheduled to take place at the 2011 Annual Meeting of ICDD members.

The ICDD also awarded two ICDD Fellows at the Annual Meetings. This award recognizes individuals who have devoted their time and talent beyond what is normally expected of a member. Recognized for their leadership in a noteworthy ICDD activity, the 2011 ICDD Fellows are: Lawrence Bernstein, Terrametrix, CA and Richard Bostwick, SPEX SamplePrep, NJ.

Lawrence Bernstein

Larry Bernstein was introduced to the ICDD by long-time member, Mary E. Mrose. He became involved with the ICDD as an editor in 1992, and in 1997 became a member. Larry was named Consulting Editor for Minerals in 1992 and has been working with the Minerals Task Group since then. This group meets twice a year, on a volunteer basis, to review the mineral patterns that are available for publication in the Powder Diffraction File. Their work focuses on standardization, classification assignments, and accuracy of mineral data. Larry is an integral member of this Task Group as well as and active participant on the Minerals Subcommittee.

Richard C. Bostwick and Tom Blanton (ICDD Chair)

Richard Bostwick serves as an active participant in the ICDD Education Programs, specifically the Specimen Preparation Workshop within the X-ray Fluorescence Clinic and the stand-alone, three-day Specimen Preparation Workshop. Richard has taught specimen preparation for over 30 years, spanning the original SUNY classes, ICDD clinics, and the Denver X-ray Conference. Over the years, Richard, under the auspices of SPEX SamplePrep, has supplied equipment such as grinders, mixers, mills, and presses to our programs to provide a truly hands-on experience for attendees. Richard has also contributed his expertise as a lecturer on this subject, a role which he continues to fill today.

Congratulations to all the 2011 award recipients!




Practical XRF
2-6 May 2011

Fundamentals of XRD
6-10 June 2011

Advanced Methods in XRD
13-17 June 2011


16-19 May 2011


Handheld XRF Workshop
11-13 October 2011

Rietveld Refinement & Indexing 1 & 2
17-21 October 2011

You are receiving this email because you are an ICDD Member.

12 Campus Blvd.
Newtown Square, PA
19073-3273 U.S.A.

Tel: (610) 325-9814
Toll-free Tel: (866) 378-9331 (US + Canada only)
Fax: (610) 325-9823

Copyright (C) 2011 - JCPDS - International Centre for Diffraction Data® All rights reserved.