Contact: H. McDonnell
Phone: (610) 325-9814
Fax: (610) 325-9823

Contact Info

ICDD Press Release

The ICDD Announces the Recipients of the
2014 Ludo Frevel Crystallographic Scholarship

February 11, 2014

The ICDD Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship Committee has selected thirteen recipients for the 2014 Scholarship Program.  These recipients were selected, on a competitive basis, from seventy-eight commendable applications received by the ICDD Scholarship Committee.  The recipients are: 

Agris Bērziņš, University of Latvia, Riga, Latvia
On the differences of Crystal Structures for Compounds with almost the same Chemical Structure: Case of Benperidol and Droperidol

Kunpeng Cui, National Synchrotron Radiation Lab, Univ. of Science & Tech. of China, Hefei, Anhui, China
In-situ Studying Crystallization and Precursors during Short-term Extension Using Synchrotron X-ray Scattering

Juli-Anna Dolyniuk, University of California, Davis, Davis, CA, USA
New High-Efficiency Thermoelectric Materials Based on Transition Metal Clathrate Frameworks

Sofia Marah Frias, National Institute of Geological Sciences Quezon City, Philippines
Characterization of Hydrothermal Alteration Mineralogy using Portable XRD/XRF and Laboratory-Based XRD

Bahareh Khalili Najafabadi, University of Western Ontario, Ontario, Canada
New Metal-Phosphido Precursors for Metal-Phosphide Nanocluster Assembly

Kyle McDevitt, Alfred University, Alfred, NY, USA
New Ceramic Materials for Solid Oxide Fuel Cells

*Gift Mehlana, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa
Crystal Engineering of Pyridyl Benzoic Acids

Cristina Motillo, McGill University, Quebec, Canada
Mechanistic Studies of Solvent-free Transformations of Metal Oxides into Porous Metal-Organic Frameworks

Guzman Peinado, Facultad de Química, Udelar, Montevideo, Uruguay 
Preparation, Structural Study and Evaluation of Physical Properties of Nanostructured Diacetate Based MOFs

Clare Rowland, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA
Synchrotron Studies of Melting Behavior in Nanocrystalline Materials

Thanh Thao Tran, University of Houston, Houston, TX, USA
From Crystallographic Architecture to Centricity Control of Novel Alkaline/Alkaline-earth Lead Fluoride Carbonate Materials

Benjamin Trump, Johns Hopkins University, Silver Spring, MD, USA
Dimensionality in the Misfit Series (MX)(1+δ)m(TX2)n as a Chemical Handle to Tune Physical Properties

Tedi-Marie Usher, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, USA
Advanced Diffraction Techniques: Structure-Property Relationships in Complex Perovskites

*2012 Recipient

The ICDD will present each of these students with a check in the amount of $2,500 to assist in the continuation of studies in their selected fields of crystallographic research.

Scholarship awards are made possible by donations from both individuals and corporations. One hundred percent of all donations to the scholarship fund are applied to student funding, as defined by the program’s charter.  The Ludo Frevel Scholarship Program is a registered non-profit charity, and all donations are tax-deductible. Please consider making a personal or corporate donation to the fund today.

Donate here: www.icdd.com/frevel/index.html

RELEASE #021114/210

This press release is being delivered to keep you up-to-date on the ICDD organization. As a representative for ICDD, we would appreciate your assistance in sharing this press release with colleagues and societies with which you are affiliated. Thank you for your assistance in promoting ICDD.

If you wish to change or remove your email address, please contact mcdonnell@icdd.com

View this email online

ICDD and PDF are registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.
The ICDD logo, Powder Diffraction File and Denver X-ray Conference are trademarks of the
JCPDS—International Centre for Diffraction Data.

International Centre for Diffraction Data
12 Campus Boulevard
Newtown Square, PA 19073