Contact: H. McDonnell
Phone: (610) 325-9814
Fax: (610) 325-9823

Contact Info

ICDD Press Release

ICDD Announces the Recipients
of the 2014 Awards

August 27, 2014

ICDD’s Board of Directors announced the recipients of the 2014 ICDD Awards at their 2014 ICDD Spring Meetings. The Awards include: The McMurdie Award; Distinguished Fellow; and Fellows.

The McMurdie Award
This award is given to recognize distinguished work, which improves the Powder Diffraction File™ in its purpose of identifying and characterizing materials. This year, the 2014 McMurdie Award was given to Dr. Evgeny Antipov, Moscow State University. Dr. Antipov was recognized for his many significant contributions over the last two decades to the quality, content, coverage, and usefulness of the Powder Diffraction FileTM, in particular, the Ceramics Subfile. In addition, his renowned role as an ICDD Ambassador to the Eastern European community has been instrumental in fostering collaborations and advancing the XRD discipline. In this role, Dr. Antipov promoted the Powder Diffraction FileTM and ICDD organization as a whole, through educational workshops and the Grant-in-Aid Program.

Distinguished Fellow
Confirming his immense contributions to the ICDD, Dr. Evgeny Antipov, Moscow State University, also received the 2014 Distinguished Fellow Award.  The title of Distinguished Fellow may be bestowed upon members, who are currently recognized as Fellows, and have given long and meritorious service to the ICDD. We are pleased to add Dr. Antipov to the prestigious group of scientists who have been named as Distinguished Fellows, and in doing so, thank him for his dedication and continuing service.

Candidates for Fellow must serve a minimum term of two years in one of the following positions: Board Director, Technical Regional Co-chair, Committee Chair, Technical Subcommittee Chair, or leader in a noteworthy ICDD activity. ICDD is pleased to announce five new Fellows. Four of them were awarded at the recent Spring Meetings for serving in a qualifying position over the last two years, while one was awarded at the recent Denver X-ray Conference to a leader in a noteworthy activity.

Serving as a Director-at-Large on the Board of Directors 2012-2014
Jordi Rius, Institut de Ciencia de Materiales de Barcelona, Spain

Serving as Chair of the Grant-in-Aid Committee 2012-2014
Graciela Diaz de Delgado, University of the Andes, Merida, Venezuela

Serving as Chair of the Electron Diffraction Subcommittee 2012 -2014
Bryan Wheaton, Corning Incorporated, Corning, New York

Serving as Chair of the X-ray Diffraction Methods Subcommittee 2012 -2014
Robert Papoular, Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique, Leon Brillouin Laboratory, France

Serving as a leader in a noteworthy activity
John Getty, Montana Tech, Butte, Montana
John has played a key role in the planning and execution of the Denver X-ray Conference for more than 30 years! From audiovisual, exhibitor set-ups, liaison to critical hotel staff, to electrical and radiation compliance, John’s skill set is enhanced by his excellent people skills, his sense of humor, and humility.

Congratulations to all!

RELEASE #082714/213

This press release is being delivered to keep you up-to-date on the ICDD organization. As a representative for ICDD, we would appreciate your assistance in sharing this press release with colleagues and societies with which you are affiliated. Thank you for your assistance in promoting ICDD.

If you wish to change or remove your email address, please contact mcdonnell@icdd.com

View this email online

ICDD and PDF are registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.
The ICDD logo, Powder Diffraction File and Denver X-ray Conference are trademarks of the
JCPDS—International Centre for Diffraction Data.

International Centre for Diffraction Data
12 Campus Boulevard
Newtown Square, PA 19073