Contact: H. McDonnell
Phone: (610) 325-9814
Fax: (610) 325-9823

Contact Info

ICDD Press Release

2013 Hanawalt Award Recipient Announced

September 19, 2013

The International Centre for Diffraction Data is pleased to announce that Dr. Robert Von Dreele of the Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory, has been named the 2013 recipient of the J.D. Hanawalt Award for excellence in the field of X-ray powder diffraction. This award recognizes Dr. Von Dreele "For his insight, courage and creativity in bringing powder diffraction to the macromolecular community." The Award was presented to Dr. Von Dreele on 7 August 2013, during the Plenary Session of the 62nd Annual Denver X-ray Conference, held in Westminster, Colorado. He also presented his Hanawalt Award Lecture at that session, entitled “Protein Polycrystallography.”

Von Dreele
(ICDD Past Chairman Tom Blanton and Hanawalt Award Recipient Dr. Robert Von Dreele)

Dr. Von Dreele’s research focuses on the development of X-ray and neutron powder diffraction, and its application to a wide variety of scientific problems. He pioneered the General Structure Analysis System program suite for Rietveld analysis, a valuable method for structural analysis of nearly all classes of crystalline materials not available as single crystals. Currently, his work centers on further extensions of protein powder diffraction including investigation of crystal growth, phase transformations, radiation damage and exploring possible routes to de novo protein structure determination from powder data.

Dr. Von Dreele began using the Rietveld method in 1972. He is the author or co-author of more than 150 scientific publications on crystal structure results and techniques, most involving Rietveld refinement. He authored a publication describing the first protein structure solved from powder diffraction data.

Prior to joining Argonne in April 2003, Dr. Von Dreele served as Professor of Chemistry at Arizona State University (1971-1987), and was a Staff Scientist at Los Alamos National Laboratory (1987-2003).

The J.D. Hanawalt Award is named for Professor J. Donald Hanawalt, whose pioneering work in the 1930s led to the development of the PDF database structure and search/match procedures still in use today. The award is presented every three years for an important, recent contribution to the field of powder diffraction.

We extend our sincere congratulations to Dr. Robert Von Dreele!

RELEASE #091913/208

This press release is being delivered to keep you up-to-date on the ICDD organization. As a representative for ICDD, we would appreciate your assistance in sharing this press release with colleagues and societies with which you are affiliated. Thank you for your assistance in promoting ICDD.

If you wish to change or remove your email address, please contact mcdonnell@icdd.com

View this email online

ICDD and PDF are registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.
The ICDD logo, Powder Diffraction File and Denver X-ray Conference are trademarks of the
JCPDS—International Centre for Diffraction Data.

International Centre for Diffraction Data
12 Campus Boulevard
Newtown Square, PA 19073