ICDD Spring Meetings Banner

2012 Plenary Speaker Biographies


Dr. Jeffrey R. Deschamps

Dr. Jeffrey R. Deschamps received his M.S. and Ph.D. at the University of Delaware, College of Marine Studies in the areas of marine natural products and marine biochemistry.  During his undergraduate studies at Southampton College, he spent a semester at Skidaway Institute of Oceanography doing both field and laboratory work in Chemical and Physical oceanography.  He has worked at the Naval Research Laboratory since 1985, on structural studies, structure function relationships of biological molecules, and biosensors.  Prior to his position at NRL, Dr. Deschamps was a post-doctoral fellow in the Department of Pharmacology at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.  He was elected to the American Crystallographic Association’s “Data, Standards, and Computing Committee,” in 2002.  This multidisciplinary background has lead to research in diverse areas including chemical oceanography, protein chemistry, structure function relationships, and the application of biochemical systems to solve problems in environmental monitoring and remediation.  He is the author of over 220 publications in diverse areas such as energetic materials, peptide and protein structure, and biosensor design and evaluation.

Dr. Sergey V. Krivovichev

Dr. Sergey V. Krivovichev received his Ph.D. (1997) and D.Sc. (2002) degrees from St. Petersburg State University, Russia. During 1999-2005, he held a number of fellowships that allowed him to perform collaborative research in structural chemistry, mineralogy and crystallography in the U.S. (University of Notre Dame), Germany (University of Kiel), and Austria (University of Innsbruck). From 2005 until now, he is a Full Professor and Chairman of the Department of Crystallography at St. Petersburg State University. He has co-authored over 220 scientific papers and six books. In 2002, he was awarded the Medal for Research Excellence by the European Mineralogical Union. In 2008, he received the President of the Russian Federation Award in Science and Technology for Young Scientists. He is a Chief Editor of the European Journal of Mineralogy, and serves on editorial boards of several international and Russian national journals in the field of mineralogy and material sciences.

Dr. Chan Park

Chan Park is a professor at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea. He received BS and MS degrees in inorganic materials engineering from Seoul National University in 1986 and 1988, respectively.  He earned a PhD degree in ceramics from the New York State College of Ceramics at Alfred University in 1996.  He performed research at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory from 1996 to 2000, and then joined SuperPower where he worked as a senior materials scientist for one year.  He worked at the Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute (KERI) of Korea from 2001 to 2005.  He joined Seoul National University in 2005. He has published more than 110 peer-reviewed papers. His current research is focused on energy-related inorganic materials which include high temperature superconductors, thermoelectric materials, transparent conducting oxides, energy saving coatings on glass, and materials for energy storage systems.  

Dr. Masatomo Yashima

Dr. Masatomo Yashima is a full professor in the Department of Chemistry and Materials Science at the Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan. Prof. Yashima received a B.S. in Physics from Tsukuba University in 1986 and obtained a Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from the Tokyo Institute of Technology in 1991. He was a Research Associate in the Materials and Structures Laboratory (Research Laboratory of Engineering Materials) at the Tokyo Institute of Technology from 1991-1997. He worked in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Interdisciplinary Graduate School of Science and Engineering at the Tokyo Institute of Technology as an Associate Professor from 1997 to March 2011. He has been working in the Department of Chemistry and Materials Science, Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Tokyo Institute of Technology at the Tokyo from April 2011 to the present.

Prof. Yashima’s current research interests include the precise crystal structure analysis with high-temperature neutron and synchrotron powder diffractometry, electron/nuclear density analysis, electronic calculations based on Density Functional Theory, thermal analysis, phase diagram and phase transition of inorganic crystalline materials. He and his group have studied a variety of ceramic materials such as ionic and mixed conductors for solid oxide fuel cells, gas sensors, oxygen membranes, batteries and catalysts, ferroelectric materials, photocatalysts, structural ceramics and biomaterials.

Prof. Yashima and his group have published over 445 papers, including more than 184 original research papers. 175 selected publications have been cited over 4,181 times (ISI, November 23, 2011). Prof. Yashima and his group have received many awards for their achievements including: The Spriggs Award from the American Ceramic Society (2010), The Award of the Ceramic Society of Japan (2009) and the Young Scientist Award (1996) of the Ceramic Society of Japan, the Award of the Crystallographic Society of Japan (2008), the Technology Award of Catalyst Manufacturers Association (2008), the Meritorious Honor Award (2008) and the Young Scientist Award (1994) from the Japan Institute of Metals, and the Excellent Doctor Thesis Award from the Tejima Memorial Foundation (1992).





(back to 2012 Plenary page)