Plenary Speaker Bios:


Dr. Matthew Suchomel
Argonne National Laboratory

Dr. Matthew Suchomel is a staff scientist at Argonne National Laboratory, where he directs research and operations for the high-resolution synchrotron powder diffraction beamline (11-BM) of the Advanced Photon Source. This position has afforded Matthew extensive experience with X-ray scattering characterization techniques.    

In addition to enabling beamline experiments for a diverse community of powder diffraction researchers, Matthew conducts research in solid state chemistry and energy materials, with a focus on in-situ studies of structure property correlations in inorganic materials. He has co-authored 50 publications in these areas of research, and holds two patents, and is a fellow of the ICDD.  

Matthew obtained his Ph.D. at the University of Pennsylvania in 2005, with thesis work focused on the structural and multiferroic properties of novel inorganic metal oxides. This was followed by a postdoctoral position in the Rosseinsky chemistry group at the University of Liverpool before starting at the Advanced Photon Source in 2009.

coming soon

Scott Speakman
PANalytical, Inc.

Scott Speakman recently began working as Principal Scientist for PANalytical, Inc.  Prior to that, Scott spent over 11 years working in user-oriented X-ray diffraction facilities; first as a postdoc in the Diffraction User Center at Oak Ridge National Lab, and then as manager of the X-ray Shared Experimental Facility (SEF) at MIT.  The X-ray SEF is part of the Center for Materials Science and Engineering at MIT, a NSF-funded MRSEC that focuses on supporting interdisciplinary research between over 15 departments at MIT and other local universities.  In his time at MIT, Scott collaborated on research addressing materials for energy applications, metal organic frameworks, biomedical materials, archeological materials and art preservation, coral and pre-coral algaes, nanocatalysis, and thin films.  Scott was awarded a 2013 Infinite Mile Award for extraordinary contributions to MIT. 
Scott Speakman earned his Ph.D. in ceramic science from Alfred University in 2002.  Scott is a Fellow of the ICDD and is chair of the subcommittee on Micro and Meso Materials. 

coming soon

E. Andrew Payzant
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Andrew Payzant leads the Engineering Materials Group in the Neutron Sciences’ Chemical and Materials Engineering Division at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. His past and present research at ORNL has focused on the application of X-ray and neutron in-situ diffraction methods for determination of structure, texture, and residual stress in materials, including ion-conducting ceramics, permanent magnets, gas separation membranes, photovoltaic thin films, thermoelectrics, and engineering alloys. Andrew is a graduate of Dalhousie University, and earned his doctorate from the University of Western Ontario in 1995. He is a Fellow of the ICDD and chairs the ICDD Non-ambient Diffraction Subcommittee.


coming soon

Dr. Tom Blanton
International Centre for Diffraction Data

Tom has recently joined ICDD as the Publication Manager. Previously he was a Senior Principal Scientist at Eastman Kodak Company where he worked in industrial applications of X-ray diffraction and X-ray fluorescence for 31 years. He was responsible for the operation of the X-ray Spectroscopy Laboratory, utilizing diffractometers for powder, pole figure, nonambient, high-resolution, reflectivity, and two-dimensional XRD. Materials analyzed included inorganics, organics, solid state devices, thin films, corrosion products, ceramics, pharmaceuticals, polymers, and nanomaterials. Tom was also the Technical Leader in the Specialty Materials Development Laboratory. His area of focus was utilization of XRD for microstructure characterization resulting in new materials development for intellectual property and product development. Tom has 145+ publications including four book chapters, 46 U.S. Patents and 57 international patents.

Tom has served as a member of the ICDD Board of Directors for the terms 1992-1998 and 2004-2013, and serving as Chairman 2008-2012. He has also received the honor of being named an ICDD Distinguished Fellow. Tom has been an instructor at the SUNY Albany and ICDD XRD Clinics for more than 30 years, and has served as a lecturer at the University of Rochester.