Spring Meetings provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and information pertinent to the scientific community and to organize, plan, and review policies and procedures within the ICDD organization.

Like, follow, and connect to ICDD here:

Plenary Speaker Bios:



Timothy Fawcett, Executive Director
International Centre for Diffraction Data
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania

Tim received his B.S. in Chemistry at the University of Massachusetts and a Ph.D. degree in Inorganic Chemistry at Rutgers University. At Rutgers, he combined X-ray crystallography with various spectroscopy techniques to study amino acids, chromophores of metalloproteins, and cupruretic agents for Wilson's disease. He was hired into the X-ray diffraction laboratory of the Analytical Sciences Department of The Dow Chemical Company in Midland, MI.
During the next 10 years, he worked in the X-ray diffraction laboratory performing a wide range of analyses of corrosion products, inorganic materials, advanced ceramics, catalysts, pharmaceuticals, and polymers. He eventually managed the inorganic analysis laboratories in Analytical Sciences, that included XRD, XRF, NAA, AA, ICP, AES, CHN, IC and electrochemical analyses. He worked with a team of scientists that developed and patented the simultaneous DSC/XRD/MS instrument, which won an IR-100 award in 1987. From 1986 to 1988, he served on the Board of Directors for the ICDD.

During the 1990's, Tim managed several new product development groups in advanced materials, electronics, coatings, dispersions, ceramics, and automotive components for different business organizations within The Dow Chemical Company. He became an ICDD fellow in 2000, and joined the ICDD as Executive Director in 2001. During his career, Tim has authored over 60 publications, been a frequent guest lecturer, and presented several papers and workshops at global X-ray conferences. Several of his publications have been incorporated in the book, Methods & Practices in X-ray Diffraction, published by the ICDD. In 2009, he received the Jenkins Award for Lifetime Achievement in the advancement and use of X-rays for materials analysis. As Executive Director, he has directed and participated in the dramatic growth of the Powder Diffraction File to >900,000 entries, which is now used by scientists in over 120 countries.

Area of expertise: X-ray diffraction as an analytical technique


Chris Gilmore
School of Chemistry, University of Glasgow, Glasgow G12 8QQ, Scotland

Chris Gilmore graduated in Chemistry at the University of Bristol where he also did his PhD. He spent much of his working life at the University of Glasgow where he worked on methods of solving crystal structures from single crystal and powder diffraction data including the use of entropy maximisation. He coupled new theoretical ideas with the development of new computer software. He pioneered the use of cluster analysis in powder diffraction. He is the author of over 200 papers, and book chapters and a past president of the British Crystallographic Association.





T. N. Guru Row

Position: Professor and Dean, Science Faculty, J.C. Bose National Fellow

Indian Institute of Science, India 560012

Phone: +91-80-22932796; Fax: +91-80-23601310
Email: sctng@sscu.iisc.ernet.in
Website : guru.sscu.iisc.ernet.in

B.Sc(Hons): Physics, Bangalore University, Bangalore, India - 1969
M.Sc: Solid state physics, Bangalore University, Bangalore, India - 1971
Ph.D: Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India - 1976

Research Experience: 
Post doc @ SUNY Buffalo, New York, USA - 1977-79
Post doc @ Roswell Park memorial Institute, Buffalo - 1979-81
Scientist @ NCL, Pune, India - 1982-88
Assistant Professor @ SSCU, IISc, India - 1989-92
Associate Professor @ SSCU, IISc, India - 1992-98
Professor @ SSCU, IISc, India - 1998- till date

Major area of research: Chemical Crystallography and Materials Design
Charge Density Analysis in Molecular crystals, Phase transitions in complex inorganic systems with emphasis on mineral evolution and generation of futuristic materials, Structural aspects of Polymorphism, co-crystals and Salts in pharmaceuticals  High resolution Powder Diffraction, Rietveld refinements and ab initio structures, In situ Cryo-crystallography.

Membership of Professional Bodies:
Associate Member, Indian Academy of Sciences,
Member, National Crystallographic Committee
Regional Co-Chair, International Center for Diffraction Data
Editor, Journal of Indian Institute of Science
Associate Editor, Bulletin of Materials, Indian Academy of Sciences
Fellow of The Indian Academy of Sciences
Fellow of Indian National Science Academy
Co-editor, Acta Crystallographica E,
Co-editor, Acta Crystallographica B
Consultant, Commission on Crystallographic Teaching
Consultant, Commission on Charge, Spin and Momentum Densities
Member of International Program Committee, IUCr XXII
Advisor, CrystEngComm, RSC, UK
Advisor, Crystal Growth and Design, ACS, USA

Young Scientist, CSIR, India 1987
Medal, Chemical Research Society India (CRSI) 2003
Prof Y.T. Thathachari Prestigious Research Award for Science, 2009
IISc Alumni Award for Excellence in Science, 2009
J.C. Bose Fellowship 2010-2019

Other details
1. Number of publications till date:  469
2. Number of degrees received under my guidance (till date): 23 PhD’s and 10 MS
3. Current strength of the group:  5 PhD students, 5 post docs and 2 project assistants.
4. Funding status:  Two major projects funded by DST, India and several funded projects
from pharmaceutical industries.

Ihor Yu. Zavaliy 
Head of Department of Hydrogen Technologies and Metal Hydride Materials Science,
Physico-Mechanical Institute of NAS of Ukraine,
Address: 5, Naukova Str., 79060 Lviv, Ukraine;
Phone: +380-32-2296833; Fax: +38-032-2649427; email: zavaliy@ipm.lviv.ua

Chemical Department of  Lviv State University – 1977-1982 (Honour Diploma);
PhD (Inorganic Chemistry)     – 1988
Dr.Sci. (Inorganic Chemistry) – 2007

Professional experience:
Physico-Mechanical Institute of NAS of Ukraine - from 1982 to present time
1989-1991  Research Scientist,
1991-2006  Senior Research Scientist,
2007-2014  Leading Research Scientist,
2014- …     Head of Department.

Professional honors and affiliations:
Member:          International Centre for Diffraction Data (USA) ;  European Crystallographic Association;  Shevchenko Scientific Society (Ukraine).
Award:            State Prize in the field of Science and Engineering (2007).

Fields of specialization:
Materials science, solid state chemistry, crystal structure and properties of intermetallic compounds and their hydrides, hydrogen storage and getter materials, electrode materials for Ni/MH batteries.

Current research activities and international collaboration:
Synthesis of novel metal hydrides, X-ray (neutron) diffraction characterization and study of their physico-chemical properties: Dr. V.Paul-Boncour (Institute of Chemistry, CNRS, Thiais, France); Prof. V. Pecharsky (Iowa State University, USA.); Prof. V. Yartys’ (Institute for Energy and Technology, Kjeller, Norwey); Dr. P. Zavalij (X-ray Crystallographic Center, University of Maryland, USA), Prof. V. Verbetsky (Moscow State University, Russia), Prof. H.Drulis (Institute of Low Temperature and Structural Research, Wroclaw, Poland).

More than 200 scientific publications.