ICDD Awards - Distinguished Fellowship Award 2012


Jeffrey Dann

This year, the Board of Directors recognized Jeffrey Dann, as the 2012 Distinguished Fellow. This award is given to a member who has given long and meritorious service to the ICDD.

Jeffrey N. Dann has been a member of the ICDD for 34 years, and during that time, has contributed to both the quantity and quality of the Powder Diffraction File. Since joining in 1978, Jeff has served ICDD in various capacities: Chairman of the Target Systems for Technical Activity Subcommittee; Chairman of the Metals and Alloys Subcommittee; member of the Grant-in-Aid Committee; Chairman of the Bylaws Committee, and Director-at-Large on the Board of Directors. Also, Jeff has made extensive contributions to other subcommittees, such as, Ceramics, Database, Diffraction Methods, Organics and Editorial.

Jeff is a part of the Metals and Alloys Task Group which is responsible for editing the Metals and Alloys Subfile, assigning Pearson Symbol Codes, implementing prototype structures, designating patterns as “primary” or “alternate,” and enhancing the quality of the Metal and Alloys entries in the PDF. His work has invaluably enhanced the quality of the data in the PDF so much that, in 2008, Jeff received the McMurdie Award for his contributions.


Read more about the continually growing list of ICDD Distinguished Fellows.