ICDD Awards - McMurdie Award


Honoring Howard F. McMurdie

Howard began his 75-year, scientific career when he joined the National Bureau of Standards (later NIST) in 1928. His research interests included measurements of phase equilibria and reference X-ray powder patterns, and characterization of solid-state materials. Howard is credited as one of the founding fathers of the ICDD, (then the Joint Committee on Powder Diffraction Standards) in the late 1930s. He established an ICDD Research Associateship at the National Bureau of Standards in the Crystallography Section. For more than 30 years, this Associateship, under his guidance and leadership, prepared a broad set of important, accurate, and widely-used experimental powder diffraction patterns.


This award is named in honor of Mr. Howard McMurdie, long time editor of the ICDD Ceramics Subfile. The purpose of the award is to recognize distinguished work, which improves the Powder Diffraction File™ in its purpose of identifying and characterizing materials.

Selection process
Awardees are chosen by the McMurdie Award Selection Committee, which is comprised of past recipients of the award, and other distinguished scientists. Nominations are solicited from the ICDD membership and circulated to the Selection Committee for consideration.

Award presentation
The McMurdie Award is presented biennially at a suitable international conference. The award consists of a commemorative plaque, detailing the recipient's contributions to the Powder Diffraction File™, a gift of $1,000 and the recipient's travel expenses to the conference.

Submission Process

  • Electronic: Names of candidates may be submitted to the Chairman of the McMurdie Award Selection Committee by completing a Nomination Form.
  • Hardcopy: Alternatively, names of candidates may be submitted to the Chairman of the ICDD McMurdie Award Selection Committee by mailing a letter of support describing the candidate's major accomplishments relative to the award, signed by the nominator and two others.

In addition to the nomination form or letter of support, the candidate's curriculum vitae must be sent via e-mail to awards@icdd.com or by mail or fax, using the contact information below:

Chairman, McMurdie Award Selection Committee
c/o The Corporate Secretary
International Centre for Diffraction Data
12 Campus Boulevard
Newtown Square Corporate Campus
Newtown Square, PA 19073-3273 U.S.A.
Fax: 610.325.9823
E-mail: info@icdd.com

Submission Deadline
Submissions must be made by 15 August for the next year's award.


Ann Sabina**


Evgeny Antipov


Andrew Roberts


Roy Garvey


Shao-Fan Lin


Harry Thielke**


Jeffrey Dann


Peter Wallace


Winnie Wong-Ng


Camden R. Hubbard


Gregory J. McCarthy