Seminare und Weiterbildung

Geschichte
Die Röntgenanalyseseminare von ICDD sind eine Weiterführung der SUNY-Seminare, die an der „State University of New York“ in Albany über 25 Jahre lang durchgeführt wurden. Im Jahr 1990 übernahm das ICDD (International Centre for Diffraction Data) die Verantwortung für die Seminare. Das ICDD ist eine gemeinnützige, wissenschaftliche Organisation und Herausgeber der Datenbank „Powder Diffraction File (PDF)” und des Journals „Powder Diffraction“. Das ICDD sieht sich der Verbreitung der Materialcharakterisierungsmethoden mittels Röntgenstrahlen verpflichtet. Das geschieht beispielsweise durch Weiterbildungsprogramme wie die ICDD-Seminare.

Warum sollte man an den ICDD-Seminaren teilnehmen?
Zweck der XRF- und XRD-Seminare ist es, Wissen über Theorie und Praxis der Röntgenfluoreszenzspektroskopie und der Röntgenbeugung am Pulver zu vermitteln. Jedes Seminar besteht aus einem einwöchigen Kurs und vermittelt anwendungsbezogenes Wissen. Die Dozenten besitzen umfassende Erfahrung auf dem jeweiligen Gebiet und kommen sowohl aus der Forschung als auch aus der Branche, um Kenntnisse aus Theorie und Praxis vermitteln zu können. Die Fokussierung auf praktische Anwendung, Praxiserfahrungen und umfassende persönliche Unterweisungen unterscheiden die ICDD-Seminare von anderen Veranstaltungen dieser Art. Jedes Seminar nutzt die Erfahrung eines Dozententeams, um dem individuellen Schulungsbedarf der Teilnehmer am besten gerecht zu werden.  

Wer sollte teilnehmen?

  • Laborangestellte, die ihre Ergebnisse weiter verbessern möchten
  • Universitätsangehörige, die ein XRF und XRD umfassendes Programm oder einen solchen Lehrplan erstellen wollen
  • Studierende nach dem Bachelor, die ihr theoretisches und praktisches Wissen über XRD oder XRF vertiefen wollen
  • XRD- und XRF-Spezialisten, die ihre analytischen Fähigkeiten verbessern wollen
  • Personen, die ihre Erfahrungen, ihr Wissen und ihre Ideen mit Gleichgesinnten teilen möchten
  • Personen mit Fragen, die sie mit unserem Expertenteam diskutieren möchten

Veranstaltungsort
Die Röntgenanalyseseminare des ICDD finden am Hauptsitz in Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA, statt. Das XRF-Seminar wird normalerweise Ende April oder Anfang Mai durchgeführt, während das XRD-Seminar Anfang Juni stattfindet. Für weitere Informationen zu den Seminaren besuchen sie die Webseite der ICDD-Seminare (ICDD Clinic home page).

Workshops
Auf Grund häufiger Nachfragen früherer Veranstaltungsteilnehmer bietet das ICDD zwei neue, spezialisierte Workshops über jeweils 3 Tage an. Diese werden im Herbst am Hauptsitz des ICDD abgehalten. Die Themen sind Rietvelt-Methode und Indizierung sowie ein XRF-Workshop.
Aktuelle Informationen finden sie unter: http://www.icdd.com/education/workshops.htm

Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten in ihrer Region
Zusätzlich zu den Röntgenanalyseseminaren bietet das ICDD Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten in aller Welt. Workshops mit Fokus auf Weiterentwicklung und Nutzung des PDF, Phasenanalyse, quantitative Analyse und Datenbanksuche werden am Rand großer Konferenzen abgehalten. Unter anderem werden bei den folgenden Veranstaltungen diese Workshops angeboten:

  • EPDIC: European Powder Diffraction Conference (Europa)
  • SARX: Latin American Seminary of Analysis by X-ray Techniques (Lateinamerika)
  • BCA: British Crystallographic Association – Spring Meeting (Großbritannien)
  • The National Crystal Chemical Conference (Russland)
  • The Chinese National Conference on X-ray Diffraction (China)
  • AXAA: Australian X-ray Analytical Association (Australien)
  • International Conference on Crystal Chemistry of Intermetallic Compounds (Ukraine)
  • DXC: Denver X-ray Conference (USA)
  • Internationaler Workshop „High Temperature Superconductors and Novel Inorganic Materials Engineering” (Russland)
  • PPXRD: Pharmaceutical Powder X-ray Diffraction Symposium (Europa/Asien/USA)

Für Wissenschaftler aus dem Bereich der Pharmazie veranstaltet das ICDD ein jährliches Symposium mit dem Titel „Pharmaceutical Powder X-ray Diffraction Symposium“, kurz PPXRD. Die Veranstaltung findet abwechselnd in Europa, Asien und den USA statt. Das Symposium besteht aus einem optionalen, eintägigen Workshop und einer zweieinhalbtägigen Fachtagung. Tagungsthemen sind: XRPD-Techniken (Messung und Nutzung von XRPD-Daten, Indizierung, Strukturbestimmung und Rietvelt-Profilanpassung); Pulverdiffraktometrie mittels Synchrotronstrahlung in der Pharmazie; ergänzende Techniken (DSC, TGA, Erhitzungsmikroskopie, FTIR, Raman, NMR, SEM, AFM, Lichtmikroskopie, XRF, SAXS and SANS); Rezepturen, Produktentwicklung; Patent und Genehmigungsfragen; Möglichkeiten zur XRD-Nutzung in der medizinischen Forschung.

Für aktuelle Informationen besuchen Sie bitte die PPXRD home page

Clinics and Workshops

HISTORY
The ICDD X-ray Clinics are a continuation of the SUNY Clinics which were held at the State University of New York in Albany for 25 years. In 1990, the International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD) assumed responsibility for these clinics. The ICDD is a nonprofit, scientific organization, which publishes the Powder Diffraction File (PDF) and the journal Powder Diffraction. The ICDD is committed to promoting the applications of materials characterization methods in science and technology by providing educational programs such as the ICDD Clinics.

WHY CHOOSE THE ICDD CLINICS?
The purpose of the XRF and XRD clinics is to combine theoretical knowledge and practical applications of X-ray fluorescence spectrometry and X-ray powder diffractometry. Each clinic is a complete one week course of practical knowledge in the field. Clinic instructors have extensive experience in the field and are deliberately selected from both academia and industry to produce the best of theory and practice. The focus on practical applications, hands-on experience, and intense personal instruction differentiates ICDD clinics from other venues. Each clinic utilizes a team of instructors representing a range of expertise to meet your training needs.

WHO SHOULD ATTEND?

  • Lab personnel who wish to improve results
  • The academic sector currently developing a program or curriculum in XRF or XRD
  • Graduate students who wish to gain knowledge in either XRF or XRD theoretical and practical
    applications
  • XRF & XRD field professionals seeking to sharpen analysis skills
  • Those who wish to share experiences, knowledge and ideas with peers working in the XRF or XRD field
  • Those with questions they wish to discuss with our team of experts

 

LOCATION
The ICDD X-ray Clinics are held annually at ICDD Headquarters in Newtown Square, PA. The XRF Clinic is typically held in late April/early May, while the XRD Clinics are held in early June. For information on this year's clinics, please visit the ICDD Clinic home page.

WORKSHOPS
At the request of attendees of our past events, the ICDD has added two new, three-day specialized workshops to its annual educational offerings. These workshops are held at ICDD headquarters in the Fall: Rietveld Refinement and Indexing, and a XRF Workshop.
Please see http://www.icdd.com/education/workshops.htm for current information.

EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES IN YOUR REGION
In addition to the X-ray Clinics, the ICDD offers educational opportunities around the globe. Workshops, focusing on the development and use of the Powder Diffraction File, phase identification, quantitative analysis, and data mining, are often held in conjunction with major X-ray analysis meetings. For example, ICDD typically runs workshops at these major events:

  • EPDIC: European Powder Diffraction Conference (Europe)
  • SARX: Latin American Seminar of Analysis by X-ray Techniques (Latin America)
  • BCA: British Crystallographic Association – Spring Meeting (United Kingdom)
  • The National Crystal Chemical Conference (Russia)
  • The Chinese National Conference on X-ray Diffraction (China)
  • AXAA: Australian X-ray Analytical Association (Australia)
  • International Conference on Crystal Chemistry of Intermetallic Compounds (Ukraine)
  • DXC: Denver X-ray Conference (USA)
  • International Workshop “High Temperature Superconductors and Novel Inorganic Materials Engineering” (Russia)
  • PPXRD: Pharmaceutical Powder X-ray Diffraction Symposium (Europe/Asia/USA)

 

For scientists interested in pharmaceuticals, ICDD hosts an annual symposium entitled PPXRD: Pharmaceutical Powder X-ray Diffraction Symposium. This event rotates between European, Asian, and USA venues. The symposium program is comprised of a one-day optional workshop, followed by two and a half days of technical sessions. Topics include: XRPD Structural Techniques (Acquisition and Use of XRPD Data, Indexing, Structure Determination, and Rietveld Refinement); Powder Diffraction Using Synchrotron Sources for Pharmaceutical Problems; Complementary Techniques (DSC, TGA, Hot Stage Microscopy, FTIR, Raman, NMR, SEM, AFM, Light Microscopy, XRF, SAXS and SANS); Formulation, Product Development, Drug Delivery and Polymorph and Salt Screening; Patent and Regulatory Issues; New Frontiers for XRD in Pharmaceutical R&D.

Please visit the PPXRD home page for current information.