Non-Ambient Subcommittee Wednesday, 13 March 2019 International Centre Headquarters Conference Room D 11:00 pm – 12:00 pm B. Wheaton, Chairman

1. Call to Order

2. Appointment of Minutes Secretary

3. Review of Mission Statement

The Non-Ambient Diffraction Subcommittee of the International Centre for Diffraction Data is organized to facilitate the use of non-ambient diffraction data by the scientific community. It makes recommendations to the ICDD about how diffraction data obtained at non-ambient conditions should be represented in the PDF, and suggests specific research activities that could result in production of non-ambient new patterns for the PDF. It also maintains contact with various research and administrative groups throughout the world to exchange information about new developments in non-ambient diffraction techniques and results.

4. Approval of Minutes of the 2018 March Meetings

B. Wheaton MovedS. Misture SecondAll in favor

5. Board of Directors' Liaison Report

Discussion centered on the 2018 motion made to the Board of Directors – The Non-Ambient Subcommittee recommends to the Board of Directors that headquarters encourage submission of complete details of procedures and conditions for new non-ambient data. Headquarters implemented the required non-ambient data during the submission process of new data. C. Lind-Kovacs made the point that headquarters might want to give an option of "Not varied", in the case that the grantee does not know the ambient information for their submission. This might cut down the reporting of false information. The committee agreed. A. Gindhart suggested talking to T. Blanton or D. Sagnella about this option, instead of making a formal motion to the Board of Directors.

Another motion that was put forward last year was creating a task group to identify materials including unstable and reactive materials for which the diffraction data is deemed likely to be highly sensitive to measurement conditions. Once such materials are identified, there is an opportunity to evaluate whether additional warnings need to be recorded in the PDF[®]. Response to this motion from T. Blanton in the comments field there is a specific comment type called sensitivity type that is populated when the information is available. Determination of phases in the database should be identified as unstable or reactive requires a task group. Headquarters recommends that the Technical Subcommittee Chair recommend that each

S. Misture, V. Peterson

B. Wheaton

Stephanie Jennings

subcommittee review materials under their charge and provide a list of materials to identify under the sensitivity comment. Discussion centered around adding comments to the sensitivity field when the information is provided.

6. New Business

The last motion that was made to the Board of Directors in 2017 was to get together at DXC 2018 and write a PDJ review paper on non-ambient diffraction methods and best practices. B. Wheaton suggested breaking this up and creating smaller tutorials for the ICDD website, i.e. calibration, furnace types, other low temperature work, etc. Then eventually have a whole group of best practices around non-ambient diffraction. S. Misture made the comment that he would still want to publish the paper so the public could cite it as a reference. S. Misture volunteered to work with B. Wheaton on a paper about temperature calibration and then another small group of people could write about a different topic. B. Wheaton suggested that the group does this remotely instead of gathering at a conference to work together. Discussion continued around having the PDJ paper be open access, that way it can be found, used, and cited by the public. In the end, S. Misture volunteered to work with B. Wheaton to come up with an outline of the information that will need to be covered and send it out to the committee to see who is interested in helping out with the tutorials.

7. Adjournment

Non-Ambient Diffraction Subcommittee

Attendance Sheet

Wednesday, 13 March 2019

Гіте: 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m

Conference Room D

Bryan Wheaton, Chairman

Robert Dinnebier, BoD Liaison

Amy Gindhart, Staff Liaison

Name of Member	Signature	Name of Member	Signature
Acharya, Bhabani		Misture, Scott	4
Audebrand, Nathalie		Nicolich, Jeffrey	$\tilde{\mathbf{N}}$, ρ
Bataille, Thierry		Papoular, Robert	Vaboulary
Beckett, Sophie		Park, Chan	~ \ _ /
Benard-Rocherulle, Patricia		Payzant, Andrew	
Bhange, Deu		Peterson, Vanessa 44	
Blanton, Justin++		Prewitt, Charles	
Blanton, Tom		Ramaswamy, Veda	
Boldyreva, Elena		Reddy, M.V.	
Bosnic, Vesna++		Rhodes, Kevin	
Clark, Harlan		Roberts, Andrew	
Dey, Archan		Robie, Stephen	
Dinnebier, Robert		Rodriguez, Mark	
Ely, Thomas	en Ch	Ryba, Earle	
Fawcett, Timothy		Serebryanaya, Nadezhda	
Ferreira, Fabio		Sharma, Yogendra Kumar	
Frank, Mark		Sitepu, Husin	
Fransen, Martijn		Sornadurai, Dhamardoss	
Fuess, Hartmut		Speakman, Scott	
Gates-Rector, Stacy		Suchomel, Matthew	
Gindhart, Amy++		Taylor, David	
Gourdon, Olivier		Vasylechko, Leonid	
He, Bob Baoping		Velisavljevic, Nenad	
Hubbard, Camden		Wang, Cong	
Huq, Ashfia		Wheaton, Bryan	Beyon Wheat
Kabekkodu, Soorya		Whitfield, Pamela	
Kaduk, James		Wong-Ng, Winnie	Www Wegt
Kan, Wang Hay (SA)		Yashima, Masatomo	1 8
Karen, Pavel		Yin, Shawn	
Krishnan, Rangarajan		Zavalij, Peter	
Leoni, Matteo			
Lind-Kovacs, Cora	Sin Rid-Ka.	2	
Louer, Daniel			

(SA) Student Affiliate, Non-voting

** Associate Member, Non-voting

++ Staff Consultant - Non-voting

Page 1 of 1

Guests - Please sign on the next page.

Guest List Attendance Sheet

Name (Please print) Signature	Name (Please print) Signature			
JOHN FABER At falm				
CYRUS CROWDER lynn Elievale				
fred Niverco Miner				
Pierre Ricou Pierre Fin				
Henry Mark				
	· .			