12 Campus Blvd, Newtown Square, PA 19073, USA
(610) 325-9814
(610) 325-9823


Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, ICDD’s Annual Spring Meeting of Members (and Guests)  transitioned from a physical to a virtual event. In keeping with the mission of the ICDD, we continued with our format of exchanging ideas and information by augmenting our typical committee and subcommittee meetings and hosting a Virtual Zoom Event, 8-12 March 2021. Committees and Subcommittees met in accordance with the schedule posted on this page.

Although we missed hosting our ICDD Members at Headquarters, we appreciated your virtual attendance and participation at the meetings.

We are especially honored this year to host 2019 Nobel Prize Winner M. Stanley Whittingham as our Keynote Speaker.

Tom Blanton
ICDD Executive Director



Zoom links will be available in the ICDD Members Only area. Please email Denise Zulli at zulli@icdd.com, if you need a password reminder.

If you are unable to attend the ICDD Annual Meeting of Members on 12 March 2021, you may appoint an active ICDD member, who is attending the meeting, to serve as your proxy.  Download the Proxy Form here.

2021 ICDD Annual Spring Meeting of Members – A Virtual Zoom Event

8-12 March 2021

Print Schedule

Day/Time – EST
Chair/BoD Liaison Staff Liaison/Minutes
Monday, 8 March
8:30 am – 9:00 am Board of Directors’ Closed Meeting A. Payzant D. Zulli
9:00 am – 10:30 am Marketing Subcommittee
Closed Meeting
D. Taylor D. Zulli
10:30 am – 12:00 pm Finance Committee
Closed Meeting
J. Kaduk D. Zulli
12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Break
1:00 pm– 2:00 pm Scholarship Committee S. Quick M. Marvel
Tuesday, 9 March
8:45 am – 9:00 am Welcoming Remarks T. Blanton and
A. Payzant
9:00 am – 10:00 am Synchrotron & Neutron
Scattering Methods Subcom
R. Papoular
(V. Peterson)
J. Blanton/
D. Delcasale
10:30 am – 11:30 am Electron Diffraction Subcom A. Bruma
(M. Leoni)
S. Gates-Rector/
J. Cannon
12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Encore Presentation of
2020 DXC Plenary
J. Post
1:00 pm– 2:00 pm PDF Editorial Staff Subcom S. Kabekkodu (TBD) S. Kabekkodu/
L. Lanno
2:30 pm – 3:30 pm New Features Presentation J. Blanton – PDF
S. Weber – JADE
4:00 pm – 5:00 pm Social/Game Conference Services
Wednesday, 10 March
9:00 am – 10:00 am X-ray Diffraction Methods Subcom C. Gilmore
(P. Whitfield)
T. Blanton/
N. Ernst-Boris
10:30 am – 11:30 am Ceramics Subcom T. Siegrist
(W. Wong-Ng)
V. Bosnic/
D. Bohnenberger
12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Encore Presentation of
2020 DXC Plenary
L. Brostoff
1:00 pm – 2:00 pm Education Subcom N. Wonderling
(C. Segre)
E. Jennings
2:30 pm – 3:30 pm Micro and Meso Subcom C. Crowder
(M. Leoni)
D. Sagnella/
M. Mitchell-
Thursday, 11 March
9:00 am – 10:00 am Non-Ambient Diffraction Subcom B. Wheaton
(R. Dinnebier)
A. Gindhart/
R. Santangelo
10:30 am – 11:30 am Polymers Subcom L. Liu
(J. Kaduk)
S. Gates-Rector/
S. Jennings
12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Encore Presentation of
2020 DXC Plenary
D. Owsley and
T. Rose
1:00 pm – 2:00 pm Organic & Pharm. Subcom F. Wireko
(J. Kaduk)
S. Gates-Rector/
M. Rost
2:30 pm – 3:30 pm X-ray Fluorescence Subcom M. Rodriguez
(C. Segre)
J. Blanton/
E. Jennings
Friday, 12 March
9:00 am – 10:00 am Keynote Speaker S. Whittingham
10:30 am – 12:00 pm Technical Committee R. Dinnebier D. Zulli
12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Break
1:00 pm – 3:00 pm Annual Meeting of Members A. Payzant D. Zulli
Saturday, 13 March
3:00 pm – 7:00 pm Board of Directors’ Closed Meeting A. Payzant D. Zulli


Ceramics Agenda Link
metals and alloys
micro and meso link
Organic and pharmaceutical link

Characterization Methods and Tools

Electron Diffraction 2019 Agenda
Non-Ambient 2019 Agenda
Synchrotron Neutron Scattering Agenda
X-ray Diffraction Method Link
X-ray Fluorescence Link

ICDD Activities

Education Link
PDF Editorial Staff

2019 Nobel Prize Winner
in Chemistry

M. Stanley Whittingham profile photo

M. Stanley Whittingham

SUNY at Binghamton Materials
Research Center
– Bio –
The Lithium Battery: The Origins and the Role of Structure and Disorder

ICDD Spring Meetings’ Keynote Speaker

M. Stanley Whittingham
Friday, 12 March at 9:00 am EST
A live Zoom event

They created a rechargeable world

9 October 2019 – M. Stanley Whittingham, in conjunction with his colleagues John B. Goodenough and Akira Yoshino, was awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the development of the lithium-ion battery. It is an honor and a privilege to have M. Stanley Whittingham as our Keynote Speaker at the ICDD 2021 Spring Meetings.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019 rewarded the development of the lithium-ion battery. This lightweight, rechargeable and powerful battery is now used in everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric vehicles. It can also store significant amounts of energy from solar and wind power, making possible a fossil fuel-free society.

Read the article on the Novel Prize site